Ladies Book Club: Your Faith Affects Your Family

“Your Faith Affects Your Family” by Ruth Ann LarklyWP_20150705_001

Every other Thursday, my church Heritage Baptist Church has a ladies book club and we are reading a book titled “Your Faith Affects Your Family”. It’s a bubby read and lively written. I’m really enjoying the book, and especially enjoying the fellowship! This week’s chapter was on perception. During this two week period I am striving to increase my testimony of perception. I’ll admit, it’s something that I think I have, but when it comes down to it, I really don’t. Most of the time my perception is clouded by judgment because I’m very cut and dry, black and white.

The author wrote about hospitality. In this chapter we read about Elisha and the Shunamite woman and that she perceived Elisha needed the ministry of hospitality. (2 Kings 4: 8-37) We can show hospitality in many ways and in many simple ways. However, many of us fall into the trap of making excuses for why we can’t. I’m guilty of “we can’t afford it” and “my house is a mess”. What lies! Really, it’s because I am an introvert and struggle with social anxiety. I feel like I am an awkward person and social situations make me extremely nervous. We as Christians are commanded to show others hospitality. It’s not about us, but about Christ. Our goal in hospitality should not be to impress our guests, but to express our love- the love of Christ. If you’re like me you have to push those thoughts from your mind and you have to form new ideals based on what is biblical. A woman in our book club made a wonderful study help for us and it’s been such a blessing to me as I reflect on what I’ve read. I asked her if I could share it and she informed me that she got most of her information from this helpful website. WP_20150705_005

I am also working on an area of perception. I chose to work on my husband’s needs. He’s such a laid back man that he never (literally) tells me what he needs. He’s so easy going that if plans change or something deviates from the course he just goes with the flow. But he needs things. He needs support, love, encouragement, and at times he needs me to get stuff done that he can’t do. He rarely asks anything of me, but I know he needs things from me. By being more perceptive I can better serve and help him do what God has called him to do.

  • James 1:5 tells me “If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him.”
  • Proverbs 2: 2-5 advises “So that thou incline thine ear unto wisdom, and apply thine heart to understanding; Yea, if thou criest after knowledge, and liftest up thy voice for understanding; If thou sleekest her as silver, and searchest for her as for hid treasures; Then shalt thou understand the fear of the LORD, and find the knowledge of God.”
  • And finally, 1 Peter 4: 9 commands me “Use hospitality one to another without grudging.”

WP_20150705_003

Leave a Reply

