Not yo’ momma’s fried chicken

My husband and I got the opportunity to travel sans babehs a few weeks ago and while we were on our trip we were fortunate enough to stay in a nice hotel. Instead of painting the town red we laid in bed and watched a bit of television. Something we almost never do because we don’t own a TV. (I know, right?!)

We ended up watching a show I believe is called “Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives”. We watched a guy fry chicken in corn flakes and make a club sandwich out of it. My husband turned to me and said, “Make that.” And what did I do? I made that. Sort of.

It’s easy really:

  • Chicken (thinly cut)
  • Flour
  • Salt and pepper
  • Crunched up Cheeze-Its
  • Eggs, mixed (I used about four) for egg bath
  • Oil
  • Fryer

Add salt and pepper to your flour to taste. Make sure you are using a big enough bowl to place your chicken in for coating. Take chicken directly from the package and lay it in the flour, coating both sides evenly. Dip coated chicken in egg bath and then lay chicken in crushed up cheese-its, coating it evenly. I patted the crumbs into my chicken.

Heat oil in fryer to about 300. Take coated chicken and fry for about 3 minutes each side until golden brown. We made sandwiches using toasted burger buns. I added ranch, Chalula hot sauce (or you can use wing sauce), mayo, and sliced tomato to make a DELICIOUS chicken sandwich. My kids ate it plain with ketchup on the side. Do what you want with the chicken. It would probably be good in a salad, too! Enjoy!

WP_20150703_001

Leave a Reply

