Our Homeschool Year at a Glance

WP_20150818_006

This is my second official year of homeschooling and after making the decision to school year round I have really taken some of the pressure off. I don’t have a set schedule and we break whenever we get the itch, but I subscribe to the “accidental unschooling” method of homeschool. I don’t recreate the classroom experience and we don’t have a set schedule, just a set curriculum.

This year two of my three littles are full time students. My oldest, who is six, is currently taking first and second grade courses and my middle child, who is almost five (in October!), is taking first grade courses. I meant to keep my middle child farther back from my oldest to make teaching easier on me, but she picked up so much last year just by being near us that she’s barely a grade behind. Most of it is due to her lower reading level, which I don’t think will last for long.

WP_20150818_001 My six year old is working on his phonics. I really enjoy Abeka for an out-of-the-gate type of curriculum, but it’s severely watered down.

Courses he’s taking for the 2015-2016 year:
Reading/Phonics: Abeka Letters and Sounds 1, then moving on to Rod and Staff English 2 for the remainder of the year.
Spelling: Abeka Spelling and Poetry 1, then moving on to Rod and Staff Spelling 3 for the remainder of the year.
Language: Abeka Language 1, then using only Rod and Staff English 2 for the remainder of the year.
Math: Rod and Staff for Christian Living 1, then moving on to Rod and Staff for Christian Living 2
Bible: Studying God’s Word book D, then moving on to Book E
Latin: Prima Latina
Spanish: Spanish copy work (this is just for fun since we are a Spanish speaking household)
Science: Apologia Flying Creatures of the Fifth Day

WP_20150818_002My four year old working on her daily work. She’s using Rod and Staff’s pre school and kindergarten series books A through H. I am absolutely over the moon about Rod and Staff!

Courses she’s taking for the 2015-2016 year:

Reading/Phonics: BOB Books
Math: Rod and Staff for Christian Living 1, then moving on to Rod and Staff for Christian Living 2
Bible: Rod and Staff Bible Stories to Read and Color
Basic Skills for Reading, Writing, Math, and Reasoning: Rod and Staff Books A through H
Spanish: Spanish copy work (this is just for fun since we are a Spanish speaking household)
Handwriting: Disney Frozen handwriting book I found at the Dollar Tree

I’m really taking my time with my four year old and not pressuring her into any formal schooling. However, because her and my son are so close in age (15 months), it’s hard to keep her from school. So, I’m slowly immersing her into our school day. She gets plenty of play breaks and I don’t pressure her to “finish assignments”.

WP_20150818_004This is my first year doing any type of formal planning. I’m using “A Simple Plan” homeschool planner. I like it a lot and although I don’t use all of it’s many aspects, it’s been a true blessing in keeping us organized. It’s great for large families, too!

We typically have school from 11-1 and then use the 3-4 hour for any make up work or further explanation. It seems like a lot, but our school day is over in a flash!

Leave a Reply

