Dollar Store Office Supplies: At a Glance

erasable highlighters

erasable highlighters

I enjoy office supplies. And while I enjoy funky imported hard to find supplies, I enjoy dollar store finds, too, so long as they aren’t junk. Recently, I found some erasable highlighters and gel highlighters at my local Dollar Tree. I’m over the moon about the gel highlighters. I use them for highlighting in my Bible and they don’t smear or bleed. And they are a fraction of the price name brand ones cost. SCORE!

gel highlighters

gel highlighters

I really do love these Dollar Store gel highlighters! They come two in a pack.

erasable highlighter

erasable highlighter

subject page

Dollar Store Challenge!

gel highlighters

gel highlighters

Here I tested my gels on UniBall AIR ink written on ultra glossy Kokuyo Campus paper. The gels smeared horribly after about one second. I waited 15 seconds and the results were significantly better. The paper is smooth, and the AIR ink is wet. I wasn’t surprised at the smearing, just disappointed.

erasable highlighters

erasable highlighters

Here are the erasable highlighters. I really, Really, REALLY want Pilot Frixion erasable highlighters, but those aren’t in the budget right now. I picked up a three pack of erasables at my local Dollar Tree and really do like them. Unfortunately they don’t perform well on smooth paper over wet ink. Super smudgy!!

erasable highlighters

erasable highlighters with ball point pen

I switched to my Zebra Z Grip Flight pen and MUCH BETTER! Absolutely no smearing and the ink left behind was just about flawless. The blue highlighter is super dark, though. It’s more of a marker, not necessarily a highlighter. But pink and yellow are definitely useable!

Not too bad for a buck!

Leave a Reply

