Learning Spanish through the Bible

WP_20150915_026

I’ve been in the process of learning Spanish for the last few weeks. I bought a Spanish workbook and it came with a CDROM for audio and extra practice. It’s tourist Spanish, but I’m mostly using it for sentence structure.

Why learn Spanish, you ask? Well, I really want to be able to reach out to a HUGE demographic where we live with our ministry. We currently live in the gulf coast region of South Texas, about an hour and a half from the Mexican border. My husband and his family are fluent Spanish speakers, and I can speak a whole lotta German. Spanish? Not so much. I think that by learning Spanish and bible Spanish we can reach people for Christ more than ever!! Reformers Unanimous has Spanish materials, so it’s just me not knowing how to speak or understand it that is keeping us from becoming a bilingual ministry.

WP_20150915_027I am using a Reina Valera Santa Biblia revision de 1909. It’s the KJV equivalent.

WP_20150915_025I am currently memorizing Isaiah 55:7 for one of the Reformers Unanimous challenges. I have the English verse down, but am still working on the Spanish translation. My goal is to memorize all the RU verses in both English and Spanish!!

4 thoughts on “Learning Spanish through the Bible

  1. anaudaciouspoet says:

    Very cool. πŸ™‚ I am picking up Spanish after a long sabbatical, using a few resources at my disposal including FluentU. I definitely want to pick up a bi-lingual Bible at some point when I have a little more vocabulary under my belt.

    Liked by 1 person

    • acculturatedhousewife says:

      I’m fortunate to live in a place where the majority of the population are Spanish speaking people. Luckily, my husband and his family are fluent and speak it all the time. I’m using the bible and learning verse by verse and supplementing with a workbook. I’ve already learned so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

