Morning Routine: My Mess is My Best

WP_20151008_001

I enjoy morning routine. I’m not a person that sets up goals based on the hours of a clock, but based on the order of which I do them. I don’t wake up at the same time every day and things don’t get done at the same time every day. BUT, I do the same things in the same order every day. Here is my morning:

WP_20151008_011I’m studying prayer and dissecting it. This book, written by Benjamin Burks and Dr. George Crabb, is fantastic for simple understanding of what it is and what it means to pray. I bought this on Sunday when Mr Burks preached at our church for the Reformers Unanimous opening.

WP_20151008_004My prayer box. I don’t pray in my head extemporaneously. My mind wanders too much for that. So, I write my prayers on index cards and file them by subject. Each morning (and I’m trying for evenings) I go through my box and pray my prayers and add on accordingly.

WP_20151008_010LOTS of water. Always. I’m trying to be healthier. I try to drink four to five of these every day.

WP_20151008_002I read my bible. It’s a KJV lay flat bible. This is the one that I have been using since I was saved. It’s taken a beating, but it’s got a lot of sentimental value. I usually read this one in the mornings and my Rock of Ages at night. I read a chapter in Proverbs every day and I am making a bigger effort to read other books, too.

WP_20151008_008

WP_20151008_009And after reading Proverbs, I record it in my Daily Journal for Reformers Unanimous and also fill out prayer, needs, protections, and praises. I really, really enjoy this journal.

WP_20151008_007I also do my personal discipleship meditations. I am working with a new believer in Christ, so I, too, have to complete the course along side of her. I HIGHLY recommend “Continue” by Paul Chappell. For new believers and seasoned Christians alike!

WP_20151008_005COFFEE!

WP_20151008_003Any my companion: Noah Webster’s 1828 Dictionary. I use this daily during my bible studies to dissect and define words to help me gain a better understanding. Even words that I think I know have a completely different context in scripture.

Enjoy! ❤

Leave a Reply

