De Atramentis Gold

IMG_0116

Yesterday I posted my Ink Drop samples from Goulet Pen Company. Today I decided to try out the De Atramentis Gold because it’s a color I wouldn’t normally use. I was pleasantly surprised at how easily I could use a color like this in my daily scribbing. It’s not annoying, it’s a dark color against the white paper, and it’s easy on the eyes. The only con is that it isn’t very feminine, but that’s a personal preference, not a drawback from the ink itself.

IMG_0117

I used a vintage Pelikan 120 with an italic nib to try out the gold. My pen was flubbing during the sample, so please excuse the ugliness of the demo. The gold is really more of a mustard yellow, but it isn’t overly yuck or too gold to actually use ever day. I think it’s a great color for daily use in journals, note taking, or list jotting. I don’t think I would use it for correspondence, however.

IMG_0120

IMG_0118

I used a Public Supply Co pocket notebook. Overall, the notebook paper is fountain pen decent, but not always friendly, as you can see by the ghosting above the ink spot. The De Atramentis gold ink didn’t feather or bleed, so I’m pretty pleased at that. Especially since I am using such a broad nib. Now if I can only get my pen to write.

Enjoy and Happy Scribbing!

Leave a Reply

