Dixon TRI-Conderoga #2HB

IMG_0400

I was at my local big box office supply store when I noticed a buy two get one free sale on ALL WRITING INSTRUMENTS. Well, of course I couldn’t not check out the inventory. To my surprise they had the Tri-Conderoga pencils in stock, which I have been wanting to try for a while now. I am a huge fan of three-sided triangular writing utensils. I think, for me, they are the most ergonomic.

IMG_0403

Of course they boast to be “The World’s Most Comfortable Pencil”… but I’m not doubting it due to the shape.

IMG_0404

Standard descriptive packaging, AND they came with a sharpener. Not the best pencil sharpener, but I like the cheap plastic ones to use on eyeliner pencils.

IMG_0402

These pencils are black and have a “soft touch” finish that is a soft, rubbery texture that is sort of silky yet it doesn’t make your hand sweaty. I prefer this finish and really felt that it enhanced the comfortability of the pencil. You can also see the 3-sided shape, hence the TRI-Conderoga name.

IMG_0405

I used the sharpener that came with the pencils and it really yucked up the tip of the pencil. The lead was wonky, so I switched to my KUM sharpener and got a much, MUCH better result!

IMG_0406

IMG_0410

After sharpening it, I wrote a bit with it on standard writing paper in a composition notebook– nothing fancy or special. Like always, these Ticonderoga pencils were a joy to use. I think these are going to be great for the long haul as they are super comfy.

IMG_0407

The #2HB lead is dark, smooth, and very soft to write with. The tip of the pencil was originally very pointed and even with a lot of pressure it didn’t break, which was surprising. The KUM sharpener that I use makes a very narrow point that almost always snaps, regardless of the pencil, and this one held its own.

IMG_0408

Overall, this pencil, like all the other Ticonderoga pencils I have used, is a joy to use. I’m very picky about the way a pencil writes, which is why I detest mechanical ones. I have to have my lead just so. Dixon Ticonderoga pencils (and now the TRI-Conderoga line) has outperformed its price. $2.89 for six of them is a bargain, not to mention I got a nice stock pile of them since it was buy two get one free.

IMG_0401

If you come across these pencils where you are, I highly recommend a purchase!

 

Enjoy and Happy Scribbing!

 

 

Leave a Reply

