Chesterfield Antique Inks

IMG_0681

I ordered four of the Chesterfield Antique Ink small bottles from xfountainpens.com. They had them for $3.99 each, so I stocked up on some various shades. They offer free shipping when you spend $15 or more, so this was a bargain!

IMG_0683

This is a swab of Antique Yankee. I do not like blue inks, but I ordered this one for my husband. He really likes it. The swab is a lot lighter than what the pen produced.

IMG_0682

It’s a deeper blue when using a fine nib.

IMG_0685

Antique Slate is the gray color that I boogered up by dropping some Yankee over it. I’m ham hands tonight, and am covered in ink! But you can see how light and powdery the slate color is.

IMG_0684

Once again the ink was darker when using a nib. I used a broad Kaweco nib for this sample since I already had a pen loaded with it.

IMG_0687

Antique Crimson was interesting. It looks like a bright pinkish red, but when I used it in a pen it was a deep jewel tone color.

IMG_0686

See the difference? I am pleasantly surprised. After I swabbed the ink onto watercolor paper I was a little disappointed because I do not like bright red inks. Buy, yayyy for it being darker!

IMG_0689

Antique Raspberry is what I am using in my Monteverde Crystal pen at the moment. It’s a beautiful brown-red wine color, almost like dried blood. It is very pleasing to look at after writing with it.

IMG_0688

It’s an honest color true to the color swab. I like that it is a bit brown, but still has a hint of pinkish red.

IMG_0690

Antique Copper is a color I bought back  the beginning of November because I wanted a fall ink color. It took a while to grow on me because it is a very loud copper color. However, after using it in my TWSBI Eco with a 1.1mm nib, this ink is very pretty.

IMG_0692

If you haven’t picked up Chesterfield’s Antique Inks, I highly recommend you do. Pop off at xfountainpens.com and pick up a bottle (or four!) and enjoy and Happy Scribbing!

 

Leave a Reply

